Tags

, , , , ,

Last night’s dinner was ah-maaaaazing! It was a cross between seafood-less paella and chicken skillet.  I kid you not, I just cut my eyes to the refrigerator, contemplating if I want the leftovers for breakfast or if I can hold off for lunch! 


While the pictures don’t do it justice (professional food photographer I am not!), I promise you won’t be disappointed if you give this one a try! 


Ingredients

  • 1 large carrot (I used two small)- peeled and diced to your liking 
  • 1 green squash- diced into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1/2 red onion diced (I have a sick obsession with red onions and used the whole thing!)
  • Zest one lemon then cut the lemon into wedges to serve with meal
  • 1/2-1 cup quinoa 
  • 1 avacado
  • 1/2 cup dried apricots 
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • Salt and pepper to taste 
  • Chicken breasts- I used 5 so there’d be leftovers to throw in salads 


Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit 
  2. In oven safe skillet/pan cook carrots and squash till tender (I cook with avacado oil) 
  3. When done transfer to plate or bowl
  4. Add onions and cook till tender
  5. Add apricots, quinoa and lemon zest to onions and stir to mix throughout
  6. Add carrots, squash chicken stock and 1 cup water (I panicked thinking this was too much water so I needed up adding about 3/4 cup rice)
  7. Bring to a boil 
  8. Season chicken breasts with salt and pepper and bake in oven till no longer pink inside
  9. Cover with lid and put in oven for about 12-15 minutes (I have the chicken and paella cooking together)
  10. Once done, dish paella onto plate, top with chicken and garnish with avacado and lemon wedges


So excited to hear how you like this one or if you tweaked it at all!  

Enjoy!

Xoxo