Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I am a firm believer that if I was told that I could only eat pasta for the rest of my life, I’d be completely fine.  I LOVE pasta. I actually had the leftovers from the dinner I made last night, for breakfast today.  Weird?  I think not!

I must say I’ve been on a roll with this whole cooking thing!  My husband may never want me to go back to work (sidenote: I’m on maternity leave… just not sure for how long!).  Last night I made an asparagus and mushroom carbonara, which I’ve recently learned is an Italian pasta dish made with egg, cheese and bacon.  I told you… I’m apparently turning into a chef!

Anyway, it was delicious and on my “Must Make Again ASAP!” list. 

Here’s what went into it:

  • 1lb asparagus cut into 1-2 inch pieces
  • 1 carton mushrooms (you can get as fancy as you want with them…I went with easy and fast!)
  • 2 cloves garlic minced 
  • 8 ounces bacon (I used a package of pancetta)  
  • 2 eggs
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 lb fettuccine 
  • 1 cup Parmesan cheese 

Here’s how to make it:

  • Place asparagus and mushrooms on baking sheet (put tinfoil on first to help make cleaning up easier) and coat with olive oil, salt and pepper
  • Bake for 20-30 minutes
  • In the meantime, cook pancetta or bacon
  • Drain and add garlic for about a minute, then turn off heat
  • With about 10 minutes left in cooking the asparagus, cook the fettuccine according to package 
  • Drain pasta but save about a cup of the pasta water
  • In a small bowl mix eggs, salt, pepper and cheese 
  • Add egg mix, asparagus, mushrooms, and pasta to pancetta and garlic and mix (add pasta water if necessary) 
  • Dish out  into bowls and top with more cheese and parsley if desired

Here’s the only picture I took of the final product… I’m not complaining!!  

Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!!

Xoxo