Tags

, , , , , ,

We have a local farmers market by my house called Roots (pronounced  more like “ruts”) that has been around, from what I’m told, forever! It’s pretty cool. You can find any kind of vegetable you’d ever want or need, there are tons of stands for meats, flowers, cheeses, candy and spices. It’s a person on a diet’s worst nightmare because pastries are everywhere and literally call your name until you buy something!  And it’s not like they lump all the pastry stands together, no, they are placed sporadically throughout the market so every time you turn a corner there’s another whoopie pie or donut stand smacking you in the face!  Again…amazing!



For someone on a NDD, it’s torture.  I probably look like a crazy person zipping thru the market with my eyes down trying not to look at all the delicious treats!  However, I did look up at just the right time to find my new favorite snack.  Amongst all the cakes and whoopie pies was a small section of “healthier” snacks, one of which being FIBER BALLS!  


These are not only delicious, but are super easy to make yourself! I’ve made different variations of these (with craisins, flaxseeds, whey protein, etc.), but to make these, this is what I would do:
1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup honey 

1/2 cup oatmeal

Pinch of salt

1/4 cup wheat bran

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cup m&m’s

Mix all ingredients together and form into balls about inch in size.  You can serve as is or even freeze them and grab them as needed! 

Let me know if you try these…or if you tried your own variation!!

Have a great weekend!

Xoxo